Manage personalizations in Dynamics 365 for multiple users

In the past, I had written two blog posts about personalizations in Microsoft Dynamics 365 for Operations (at that time still called Dynamics AX). Some features are already enhanced and expanded in the past year. With the release of Platform update 5, Microsoft added the option to centrally upload a saved personalization file to multiple users at once. Before this update, each user had to import a smart personalization done by a user manually. In this post, I will guide you through the new options.

Create a personalization

As the personalization options have been evolved since I wrote the previous blog posts about personalization, I will show a small example to personalize a form. The Teams form will be taken as example. When you open the standard form, it looks like this:

Manage personalizations

We would like to include the Description in the list and also rename the Administrator field to Primary contact. As last change, I thought it would be a good idea to have the primary contact in the fast tab summary. You can see the result below.

Manage personalizations

We are very happy with this result. By the way: Did you know it was possible to include more fields in the overview list?

Now we would like to use this as a default for multiple users. To be able to distribute these personalizations, we have to export the changes to a file first. You can do it using the Manage drop down button and click Export. Then you can download the file with the form personalization.

Manage personalizations

Manage personalizations

Once you got the personalization file, the system administrator can distribute it to one, more or all users at once. To do so, you need to go to the menu path: System administration > Setup > Personalization.

Manage personalizations

On the form that opens, you have to perform 4 steps.

 Manage personalizations

  1. (Optional) Provide a role to filter the user list with users assigned to a particular role. Otherwise the list with users will contain all users.
  2. Select one, multiple or all users which should get the personalizations pushed.
  3. Click Import to start selecting the file with personalizations.
  4. Click Browse to select the file with personalizations. After closing the file dialog it will directly start importing the file and distribute the personalizations to the selected users:

Manage personalizations

When the import is complete, the other users can directly benefit from the new enhanced lay-out.

There is more…

Using the main Personalization form, a system administrator would be able to delete all personalizations for all users with one action.

Manage personalizationsAnother feature is removing individual personalizations from several users. Support for this can be found on the tab page Clear. You can select a form or workspace name. If the list with users is too large, you can filter users by role or using filter options on the User list. Then you can select one, multiple or all users and click the Clear button. Note that there is no support to delete personalizations from multiple forms together, unless you want to remove all personalizations as described above.

Manage personalizations
To prevent users from making personalizations, even restrict it per form, you can use the features available on the Users tab page.

 

That’s all for now. Till next time!

 

Microsoft Dynamics AX CommunitySubscribe to this blogger RSS FeedMy book on Merging global address book records in AX 2012

 

Comments5
  1. Riccardo FiaschiMay 09, 2017   

    Great post again André! Thanks!

  2. Odd Sverre volleMay 12, 2017   

    Hi André,

    Thanks for sharing! Are you able to do the same with a custom workspace?

    I’ve been trying to use this method to distribute a workspace to multiple users, but I get an error on import saying “Object ‘Query’ could not be created”

    Or are there better ways to create workspaces (as a system user, not developer) for groups of users,

    • André Arnaud de CalavonAugust 19, 2017   

      Hi Odd Sverre Volle,

      Sorry for the late reply. I missed your comment. See my answer on the question from MC.

  3. MCAugust 18, 2017   

    Hi Andre,

    A great post indeed, thank you very much!
    I think this is a great functionality, however, I only see the ‘System’ and ‘Users’ tab on the personalizations form, while I have a SysAdmin role. Do you know what the reason could be?
    Furthermore, I wonder if this indeed works for a custom workspace (as ODD SVERRE VOLLE has asked). And if a workspace is connected to users in the specific role, what happens if users are added to or removed from that specific role? Will that also have consequenses for the availability of the workspaces for those users?

    Thanks!

    • André Arnaud de CalavonAugust 19, 2017   

      Hi MC,

      Thanks for reading my blog. If you have an environment which is not running on Platform Update 5 or higher, this functionality is not available.
      You can also distribute changes of a workspace as this is also a form. But not that this workspace often contains sub forms with e.g. lists, like ‘Customers over due’. If you change column settings on these sub forms, this is not part of the workspace configuration, but the (sub) form configuration.

Leave a Comment!

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *